top of page

CHICKS. Ultimate production, maximum chick

CHICKS 

Ultimate production, maximum chick

 

Look at that chick! Whether fledgling, hen, poultry or egg-laying fowl, the life of a chicken is as complex as it is short-lived. In these times of factory farming and overproduction of food, the Cologne-based dancer & choreographer Marion Dieterle dares to take a comparative look: human vs. chicken.

 

CHICKS shakes up and provokes. The piece lays bare the question: Who is actually the workhorse here? In powerful images it speaks of profit maximization and body cult, scheduled offspring, work performance and self-exploitation, on up to sacrifice.

 

CHICKS ON STAGE

Marion Dieterle and Emily Welther are the chicks on stage. They peck and scratch, flutter and brood, shed feathers and are roasted. Abstrusely animalistic, oppressively honest and hilarious at the same time, the production goes far beyond the mere transfer between humans and chickens. Through the staging, pulsating rhythms and dance performance, images of striking beauty emerge. Sometimes delicate and fragile, sometimes lascivious, sometimes aggressive, the gestures and actions captivate with their starkness, poetry and oddness.

Marion Dieterle extends the embodiment of the chicks by projecting and animating her own drawings. They are the disruptors in the operations, and are the blueprints of the troubled chickens' souls.

 

 

HENHOUSE OR GOLDEN CAGE

The staging opens up spaces and interpretations of social range: life like chickens on a roost, normalized and rationalized. Life in a henhouse or a golden cage - for CHICKS the stage becomes a meat market and a mere illusion of physical self-determination; a rhythm of life that is as much “on the clock” as it is treacherous. How far do economic principles already penetrate our bodies and our actions? And are the frenzied free-range chickens actually free, or kept?

 

EGGS IN THE AGE OF WHOLESALE AND SOCIAL FREEZING

Relentlessly and ambivalently, the piece also dedicates itself to the egg as object of desire. In a time of declining birth rates and large-scale overproduction, the egg represents both precious new life as well as industrial interchangeability.  Eggs seem to be available at any time, whether as food or to safeguard one’s own continued existence. Tightly packed, or isolated and transplanted, the egg becomes a commodity on an assembly line, a master clock for cycles, loops, and rhythms of life.

 

 

Concept/ Direction: Marion Dieterle

Dance/ Choreography: Marion Dieterle und Emily Welther

Music: Ralf Freudenberger

Stage and Light Design & Technical Direction: Wolfgang Pütz

Drawings/ Animation: Marion Dieterle

Artistic Advice : Barbara Fuchs

Animation Support: Mathijs Stegink

Photography: Michael Straßburger

Press Release: Anika Lecomte

 

CHICKS is a dance performance created by DOSSIER 3-D-Poetry in co-production with Barnes Crossing – Freiraum für TanzPerformanceKunst in Köln. Its realisation was sponsored by the Kunststiftung NRW, Landesverband Freier Theater Baden -Württemberg e.V. (from resources of the Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst), NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste, Kulturamt der Stadt Köln, Sparkasse Freiburg- Nördlicher Breisgau, Silke Z./ resistdance as well as Dance Artist Service (iDAS) NRW.

bottom of page

© 2016 DOSSIER 3-D-Poetry/Marion Dieterle

CHICKS. Ein Hühnerdasein am Leistungslimit

CHICKS 

Oh what a chick! Ob Tussi, Küken, Geflügel oder eierlegendes Federvieh – ein Hühnerdasein ist ebenso vielschichtig wie kurz. Im Zeitalter von Massentierhaltung und Nahrungsmittelüberproduktion wagt die Kölner Tänzerin & Choreografin Marion Dieterle eine vergleichende Betrachtung: Mensch vs. Huhn.

 

CHICKS rüttelt auf und provoziert. Das Stück stellt ganz offen die Frage: Wer ist hier eigentlich das Arbeitstier? und erzählt in kraftvollen Bildern von Profitmaximierung und Körperkult, Nachwuchsterminierung, Arbeitsperformance und Selbstausbeutung bis hin zur Aufopferung.

 

CHICKS ON STAGE

Marion Dieterle und Emily Welther sind die chicks on stage. Sie picken und scharren, flattern und brüten, lassen Federn und werden verbraten. Abstrus animalisch, beklemmend ehrlich und urkomisch zugleich geht die Inszenierung weit über den reinen Transfer zwischen Mensch und Huhn hinaus. Jenseits von Setting, pulsierenden Rhythmen und tänzerischer Performance entstehen Bilder von frappierender Schönheit. Mal zart und fragil, mal lasziv, mal aggressiv bestechen die Gesten und Aktionen durch ihre Drastik, Poesie und Skurrilität.

Die Verkörperung der chicks erweitert Marion Dieterle noch durch die Projektion und Animation eigener Zeichnungen. Sie sind die Störer im Betriebsablauf, die Blaupausen der geplagten Hühnerseelen.

 

HÜHNERSTALL ODER GOLDENER KÄFIG

Die Inszenierung eröffnet Räume und Interpretationen von gesellschaftlicher Spannweite: Ein Leben wie die Hühner auf der Stange, genormt und rationalisiert. Ein Leben im Hühnerstall oder dem goldenen Käfig – für CHICKS wird die Bühne zum Ort der Fleischbeschauung und bloßen Illusion von körperlicher Selbstbestimmung. Ein Lebensrhythmus so durchgetaktet wie perfide. Wie weit schon durchdringen ökonomische Prinzipien unsere Körper und unser Tun? Und sind die rasenden Hühner in Freilandhaltung eigentlich frei oder gehalten?

EIER IM ZEITALTER VON GROSSHANDEL UND SOCIAL FREEZING

Schonungslos und ambivalent widmet sich das Stück auch dem Ei als Objekt der Begierde. In einer Zeit der sinkenden Geburtenrate und Überproduktion im großen Stil steht das Ei zugleich für das kostbare neue Leben und die industrielle Austauschbarkeit. Eier scheinen jederzeit verfügbar, ob als Nahrungsmittel oder um den eigenen Fortbestand zu sichern. Dicht an dicht auf Masse verpackt oder isoliert und verpflanzt, wird das Ei zur Ware am Fließband, zum Taktgeber für Zyklen, Schlaufen, Lebensrhythmen.

Konzept/ Inszenierung: Marion Dieterle

Tanz/ Choreografie: Marion Dieterle und Emily Welther

Musik: Ralf Freudenberger

Bühne/ Lichtdesign/ Technik: Wolfgang Pütz

Zeichnungen/ Animationen: Marion Dieterle

Artistic Advice: Barbara Fuchs

Animations Support: Mathijs Stegink

Fotos/ Videomitschnitt/ Trailer: Michael Straßburger

Produktionsleitung: Monika Kozaczka

 

CHICKS ist ein Tanzstück von DOSSIER 3-D-Poetry in Koproduktion mit Barnes Crossing – Freiraum für TanzPerformanceKunst in Köln. Seine Entstehung wurde gefördert und unterstützt durch die Kunststiftung NRW, den Landesverband Freier Theater Baden -Württemberg e.V. (aus den Mitteln des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst), das NRW Landesbüro Freie Darstellende Künste, das Kulturamt der Stadt Köln, die Sparkasse Freiburg- Nördlicher Breisgau, Silke Z./ resistdance sowie dem internationalen Dance Artist Service (iDAS) NRW.